If you run a small or mid-sized Indian sales team and want published rupee pricing, a usable free edition and a deep app ecosystem, start with Zoho CRM. If your team values a clean interface with built-in phone, email and AI assistance and you are comfortable paying in US dollars, shortlist Freshsales. If you sell over the phone and WhatsApp with a large team and want per-organisation rather than per-user economics, run a trial of Kylas, while accepting that its paid-plan price is not shown publicly. None of the three is universally "best"; the right answer depends on team size, how your leads arrive, and whether you need a CRM or a CRM plus a telephony and marketing stack.
Executive summary
- Zoho CRM publishes INR prices: Standard ₹800, Professional ₹1,400, Enterprise ₹2,400 and Ultimate ₹2,600 per user per month on its official pricing page, plus a free edition that Zoho says supports up to 3 users.
- Freshsales publishes USD prices: Growth $9, Pro $39 and Enterprise $59 per user per month billed annually, with a 21-day trial of the full CRM, according to the Freshworks CRM pricing page.
- Kylas uses a different model: its pricing page lists a lifetime-free Embark plan with 10,000 records and unlimited users, an Elevate plan with a 7-day free trial, and a custom Exceed plan; the Elevate price was not shown on the page we could access.
- Per-user vs record-based pricing changes the maths. For a 10-person team the per-user CRMs scale linearly; a record-capped, unlimited-user plan can be cheaper for large calling teams but becomes expensive when your database grows.
- India's buyer is on mobile. TRAI reports 1,354.28 million telephone subscribers at the end of July 2026, so mobile apps, click-to-call and WhatsApp integrations deserve more weight than they would in a desktop-first market.
- Compliance is now a buying criterion. The DPDP Rules, 2025 were notified on 14 November 2025 and require a separate, clear consent notice, which your CRM's forms and records must be able to evidence.
Market context
Indian SMB sales teams work in a market where the phone is the primary sales channel. TRAI's telecom subscription data for July 2026 puts total telephone subscribers at 1,354.28 million, broadband subscribers (excluding M2M connections) at 1,005.72 million, and active wireless subscribers on the date of peak VLR at 1,204.01 million. In practical terms, most of your prospects will answer a call, open a WhatsApp message or click an ad on a phone. A CRM that cannot log calls automatically, show a lead's history on a mobile app, or trigger a message when a form is filled will leave gaps in the pipeline.
The second structural factor is regulation. The Ministry of Electronics and IT's framework, summarised in the Government of India's DPDP Rules explainer, confirms that Parliament enacted the Digital Personal Data Protection Act on 11 August 2023 and that the Rules were notified on 14 November 2025 with an eighteen-month phased compliance period. For a CRM buyer this means consent capture, purpose limitation and deletion requests move from "nice to have" to features you must be able to demonstrate. The same document lists penalties of up to ₹250 crore for failing to maintain reasonable security safeguards.
The third factor is commercial communication rules. TRAI's Telecom Commercial Communications Customer Preference (Second Amendment) Regulations, 2025, released on 12 February 2025, tighten obligations on senders who use registered headers and content templates. If your CRM sends SMS through a gateway, the gateway and your DLT registrations have to line up.
We could not find a government or regulator statistic that sizes the Indian CRM market specifically, so we do not quote one. Vendors do publish claims about their own customer bases; where we mention a vendor's claim we label it as such and link to the vendor page.
Evaluation framework
The weights below are App Advisor's methodology for SMB sales CRMs in India. They reflect what typically decides success in the first year: adoption by reps, how leads are captured, and total cost. Adjust the weights if you are a regulated business (increase compliance) or a field-sales business (increase mobile).
| Criterion | Weight | What we look for |
|---|---|---|
| Lead capture and routing | 20% | Web forms, ad integrations, IndiaMART/Justdial-style inbound, round-robin assignment |
| Calling and messaging | 15% | Click-to-call, call recording, WhatsApp, SMS through DLT-compliant gateways |
| Pipeline and automation | 15% | Stages, workflows, reminders, blueprint-style process enforcement |
| Mobile app and offline use | 10% | Logging calls and visits from a phone, check-in, offline sync |
| Reporting and forecasting | 10% | Dashboards, rep scorecards, forecast by stage |
| Published pricing and TCO | 15% | Transparent plans, INR billing, add-on costs |
| Data protection readiness | 10% | Consent fields, audit logs, role permissions, export and deletion |
| Ecosystem and support | 5% | Integrations with accounting, helpdesk and marketing tools; India support hours |
Vendor comparison
Prices below are copied from each vendor's official page at the time of research. Taxes are extra. Where a page did not show a price we say so rather than estimate.
| Vendor | Free option | Entry paid plan | Mid plan | Top published plan | Trial | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Zoho CRM | Free edition, up to 3 users | Standard ₹800/user/month | Professional ₹1,400/user/month | Ultimate ₹2,600/user/month (Enterprise ₹2,400) | Free trial offered; length not stated on the page we accessed | Zoho pricing |
| Freshsales | Free plan mentioned; details not shown | Growth $9/user/month, billed annually | Pro $39/user/month, billed annually | Enterprise $59/user/month, billed annually | 21 days | Freshworks pricing |
| Kylas | Embark: lifetime free, 10,000 records, unlimited users | Elevate: price not published on the page we could access | — | Exceed: custom | 7 days on Elevate | Kylas pricing |
| LeadSquared (for comparison) | None listed | Sales Pro ₹2,500/user/month, billed annually | Sales Super ₹5,000/user/month, billed annually | Custom | Not stated | LeadSquared pricing |
Two notes on reading this table. First, Freshsales lists add-ons separately; its pricing page shows the Freddy AI Agent at $49 per 100 sessions and branded documents at $19 per user per month, so a like-for-like comparison must include any add-ons you need. Second, Zoho's page advertises a saving for annual billing, so confirm whether the price you are quoted is the monthly or annual rate before you sign.
If you are still defining your shortlist, our broader best CRM software in India guide covers more vendors, and LeadSquared vs Salesforce vs HubSpot covers the enterprise end. You can also browse every tool in the CRM software category or the related sales engagement category.
Where each CRM fits
Zoho CRM is the most complete "grow into it" option for Indian SMBs. The free edition lets a founder and two reps start without a card, the Standard plan adds the workflow and reporting basics, and the higher tiers add process enforcement, territory management and analytics. The main benefit is the wider Zoho ecosystem: Zoho Books for invoicing, Zoho Desk for support and Zoho Campaigns for email all share the same login and data model. The main risk is configuration sprawl. Zoho CRM can do almost anything, which means a team without an administrator can build a messy system quickly.
Freshsales is designed around the rep's day. Built-in phone, email sequences and AI-driven insights are the selling points, and the interface is generally quicker to learn. For an India-based company the practical questions are currency and add-ons: the published plan prices are in US dollars, and AI sessions and some features are charged separately. Freshworks' page notes that American Express and Discover cards are not accepted for INR billing, which suggests INR invoicing is possible; confirm this with sales if you need GST invoices in rupees.
Kylas targets high-volume Indian sales teams, particularly those that live on the phone and WhatsApp. The unlimited-user structure on every plan is its most distinctive feature, because telecalling teams often have high attrition and many part-time users. Because the Elevate price is not shown publicly, you will need a quote to model cost, and you must watch the record cap: 10,000 records on the free plan and 100,000 on Elevate, according to its pricing page.
Alternatives worth a look: Bigin by Zoho CRM for micro-businesses that only need a pipeline, TeleCRM for calling-first teams, and HubSpot CRM if inbound marketing is your main lead source.
Total cost of ownership
Illustrative model — assumptions stated. This is not a quote. It uses list prices from the vendor pages cited above and the following assumptions:
- A 10-user sales team for 12 months.
- Zoho CRM Professional at the listed ₹1,400 per user per month.
- Freshsales Pro at the listed $39 per user per month billed annually (kept in USD; we do not convert currencies).
- Kylas Elevate price unknown, so shown as a quote.
- One-time implementation effort of 60 hours of internal admin time, valued at an assumed ₹600 per hour.
- GST and payment gateway charges excluded.
| Cost line | Zoho CRM Professional | Freshsales Pro | Kylas Elevate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Licences (10 users × 12 months) | ₹1,68,000 | $4,680 | Quote required |
| Add-ons assumed | None | None assumed (Freddy AI Agent listed at $49 per 100 sessions if needed) | Not modelled |
| Internal setup (60 hours × ₹600) | ₹36,000 | ₹36,000 | ₹36,000 |
| Year-one total | ₹2,04,000 | $4,680 + ₹36,000 | Quote + ₹36,000 |
Three sensitivities matter more than the headline licence cost. Seats: if only six of the ten users are full-time reps, per-user plans cost 40% less while unlimited-user plans do not change. Telephony: call minutes, virtual numbers and WhatsApp conversation charges are usually billed by a telephony or messaging provider on top of CRM licences; see our MyOperator vs Knowlarity vs Exotel comparison. Adoption: a CRM that reps do not update has a real cost of zero value, so budget time for training.
Implementation roadmap
Weeks 1–2: Design. Map your lead sources, pipeline stages and hand-offs. Decide which fields are mandatory, who owns each lead, and what "qualified" means. Write your consent text for web forms and decide how you will store proof of consent.
Weeks 3–4: Build. Configure stages, custom fields, assignment rules and role permissions. Connect the website forms and ad lead forms. Import a cleaned sample of historic leads, not the entire spreadsheet.
Weeks 5–6: Integrate. Connect telephony for click-to-call and call logging, WhatsApp through an approved business API provider, email, and your accounting tool if quotes and invoices need to flow.
Weeks 7–8: Pilot. Run the CRM with one team. Track daily active users and whether each call results in an activity record. Fix the fields and automations reps complain about.
Weeks 9–12: Roll out and govern. Train all users, switch off the old spreadsheet, and publish a weekly pipeline review that uses only CRM data. Set a quarterly data-hygiene review covering duplicates, stale leads and deletion requests.
Risks and compliance checklist
- Consent notices (DPDP Act, 2023 and DPDP Rules, 2025). The Government's explainer states that every Data Fiduciary must issue a separate consent notice that is clear and explains the specific purpose. Capture the notice version and timestamp against each lead.
- Data principal requests. The same document says Data Fiduciaries must respond to requests to access, correct or erase data within ninety days. Confirm your CRM can export and delete a single contact's records, including call recordings and attachments.
- Breach notification. The Rules require affected individuals to be informed without delay. Ask each vendor for its incident notification commitment in the contract.
- SMS and DLT. If you send SMS from the CRM, use only registered headers and content templates; TRAI's 2025 amendment regulations require senders to self-certify their registered headers and templates annually.
- Access control. Restrict export rights. A departing rep with an export button is a data-leak risk.
- Currency and invoicing. Confirm INR invoicing and GST treatment for USD-listed plans.
- Lock-in. Test a full data export during the trial, including custom fields and activity history.
KPIs to track
- Lead response time: median minutes from lead creation to first call or message.
- Contact rate: share of new leads reached within 24 hours.
- Stage conversion: percentage moving from each stage to the next, by rep and by source.
- Pipeline coverage: open pipeline value divided by the quarter's target.
- Activity compliance: calls and meetings logged per rep per day, compared with telephony records.
- CRM adoption: weekly active users as a share of licensed users.
- Cost per acquired customer by source: marketing spend plus sales cost, divided by customers won.
- Data hygiene: duplicate rate and share of records with a valid consent record.
How to choose
Choose Zoho CRM if you want rupee pricing today, a free starting point for up to three users, and a single vendor for sales, support, email and finance. Choose Freshsales if your reps need an easy interface with built-in phone and email, your finance team is comfortable with USD list prices, and you value AI-assisted selling. Choose Kylas if you have a large calling team with frequent joiners and leavers and your record volume is predictable; ask for the Elevate quote in writing. If you mainly need a simple pipeline for fewer than five people, consider Bigin before any of the three. Whatever you pick, run a two-week trial with real leads, real calls and one export test before committing to annual billing.
FAQs
What is Zoho CRM's price in India?
Zoho's official pricing page lists Standard at ₹800, Professional at ₹1,400, Enterprise at ₹2,400 and Ultimate at ₹2,600 per user per month, with local taxes charged in addition. Zoho also offers a free edition that it says supports up to 3 users.
Does Zoho CRM have a free trial?
Yes. Zoho advertises a free trial on its CRM pages, but the page we accessed did not state the number of days, so check the sign-up screen for the current length. Separately, the free edition does not expire.
What does Freshsales cost?
The Freshworks pricing page lists Growth at $9, Pro at $39 and Enterprise at $59 per user per month, billed annually. Add-ons such as the Freddy AI Agent ($49 per 100 sessions) are priced separately.
How long is the Freshsales free trial?
Freshworks states that when you sign up you get access to the fully loaded CRM for 21 days.
What is Kylas CRM and how is it priced?
Kylas is an Indian sales CRM. Its pricing page lists a lifetime-free Embark plan with 10,000 records and unlimited users, an Elevate plan with 100,000 expandable records and a 7-day trial, and a custom Exceed plan. The Elevate price was not displayed on the page we could access.
Which CRM is better for telecalling teams?
Teams that make many calls per day should prioritise automatic call logging, recording and dialler integration over pipeline features. Kylas and TeleCRM are designed around calling, while Zoho CRM and Freshsales achieve this through built-in or integrated telephony. Test each with your actual telephony provider.
Is a free CRM enough for a small business?
For up to three users with simple pipelines, Zoho CRM's free edition or Kylas Embark can be enough. You will outgrow them when you need automation, more users or more records, so check upgrade prices before building your process around a free plan.
Sources
- Zoho CRM pricing
- Zoho CRM India product page (free edition FAQ)
- Freshsales pricing – Freshworks
- Kylas pricing
- LeadSquared Sales CRM pricing
- TRAI – Telecom subscription data as on July 2026 (Press Release 116/2026)
- PIB – DPDP Rules, 2025 Notified (explainer)
- TRAI – TCCCPR (Second Amendment) Regulations, 2025
- TRAI – TCCCPR Second Amendment Regulations, 2025 (PDF)








